ASTROS ADDICTION: I still love my hometown ‘stros, but our latest losses have me close to tears…

by dentonramsey

ASTROS ADDICTION: I still love my hometown ‘stros, but our latest losses have me close to tears…

By Denton Ramsey / Astros Blogger

 

I hate to be the one to say it, but the Astros are done for the 2006 season.

This isn’t the Houston Chronicle declaring the Astros dead at the midway mark – this is Denton Ramsey, an Astros addict, telling you Houston will not be in postseason play this year.

Trust me, it’s just as hard for me to read and say as it is for me to write those words, but it’s true.

We’ve had opportunity after opportunity, but the door has been slammed in our face time and time again.

Unfortunately, this is a fairly familiar tune to that same old song for Houston sports franchises.

Time and time again, Houston has failed to come through in the clutch when needed most.

We won back-to-back NBA Championships with the Houston Rockets in 1994 and 1995, and then for some wild reason we decided to trade away the whole team for a couple of guys that play second-fiddle to the shooting stars of the NBA.

For those unaware of the two players I am speaking about, I am talking about Charles Barkley and Scottie Pippen.

They came and they went, and with nothing to show for it.

Pippen is a baby and a complainer, and the only reason people know who he is, is because of Mr. UNC and Chicago’s Charming Champion, Michael Jordan.

And as much as I hate UNC due to my die-hard love for Duke, anyone and everyone knows that Jordan is one of the best ever when it comes to the game of basketball.

But still, nothing compares to Coach K and Blue Devil Basketball.

However, I digress…

Beyond our own destruction of a championship team, Houston also lost the town’s original NFL football team due to an ignorant and stubborn owner named Bud Adams.

But guess what – Mr. Adams appears to be the smart one this time around, as hometown legend Vince Young will be playing for the Tennessee Titans this upcoming season.

Another sad chapter in an ongoing sad book about Houston sports franchises flushing their own teams down the toilet.

It’s sad, but true.

And now the Astros have joined the group for a royal flush, as for some odd reason the Houston management feels the need to try and trade away the backbone and future of our team in Roy Oswalt.

If the Astros management truly wants to start from scratch next year, they are heading in the right direction – because they are pushing Roy out the door, and on top of that – we can’t win a damn game.

Our bullpen has collapsed this season as well… our closer, Brad Lidge, still hasn’t fully recovered from Albert Pujols’ 2005 postseason blast at Minute Maid Park.

But once again, I digress…

I love my Houston Astros, but we’re done for the 2006 season.

It’s a shame the team has tried, not once – but twice, to trade away the Wizard – I love the guy because he’s what this game is all about.

I had the wonderful opportunity to interview Roy when I was the Sports Editor for the Demopolis Times in West Alabama in early 2005, and the guy is just remarkable.

Not only does Roy love the game of baseball, he loves the city of Houston and he loves the fans as well.

It’s a sad commentary, but the Houston Astros 2006 season is all but over.

We got Roger Clemens for one more year and we still have the backbones of our future intact in Roy O and Andy Pettitte, but we better be careful… we’re walking on shaky ground….

The Astros return to the diamond again tonight at 6:05 p.m. in a battle with the Pittsburgh Pirates as the Rocket takes the mound for Houston.

All the action, as sad and hard as it might be to watch at times, begins tonight at 6:05 p.m. on FSN Houston.

 

Denton Ramsey can be reached via e-mail at denton.ramsey@gmail.com

 

