SPORTS ADDICT: It’s all about the love…

by dentonramsey

SPORTS ADDICT: It’s all about the love…



 
 

Hello, Allen American readers, my name is Denton Ramsey and I am the new sports editor for the Plano Star Courier and Allen American.

I moved to town about a week ago and I love everything thus far n the people have been great, the sporting events have been a blast and I love my job here.

As a sports writer and editor, I have been involved in some form of sports journalism since my freshman year in high school at Memorial in Houston, Texas.

And as a local Texas journalist, I understand and appreciate the love and passion Texas towns have for their high school football teams.

With the high school pigskin season quickly approaching, I know that many of the fans, students, parents and players can’t wait to hit the field for the 2006 season.

It’s always fun for me, as a sports writer, to sit back and watch as the high school football fever quickly and quietly attacks every town, both small and big, all across America.

And for us in the South, high school football is king.

My two jobs prior to arriving here in Plano were working as a staff writer and editor for the Alpine Avalanche in West Texas, and before that I was the sports editor for the Demopolis Times in West Alabama.

During my tenure as the sports editor in Demopolis, I was fortunate enough to be able to cover two high school state championships and a women’s basketball team that clawed their way into the Final Four, only to drop a heart-breaker to the defending champs.

In Demopolis, the Tigers took care of business on the football field, going undefeated all season before bringing home a state title to the small town in Alabama.

Then, just a few months later, the Tigers baseball team shocked the Alabama nation by winning a state title in baseball, this one coming in a moment of pure excitement as Demopolis High School won the game with a walk-off homerun in front of a large crowd gathered at a minor league ballpark.

For the DHS players, parents and fans, that moment of excitement grew steadily as the Tigers’ walk-off homer sailed away and disappeared into the Alabama’s evening sky.

 
 

All three moments in Demopolis are times I will never forget as a sports journalist n watching in pure amazement while running down the sideline in full stride, hurdling obstacles along the way as I yelled at Chad Schroeder to “keep going” as he returned a kick-off for a Demopolis touchdown in rout to a DHS state title.

I’ll never forget jumping up and screaming in absolute excitement as the Tigers took home their second title of the season with a walk-off homer in the 10th inning of a nail-biter.

And I’ll never forget having to interview the opposing team’s players and coaches after my Lady Tigers were defeated in the Final Four at Alabama’s High School Basketball State Championship.

To me, that’s what this job is all about n the love of the game, the passion of the players and the relationships developed along the way.

For me, there’s nothing in the world that compares to high school sports.

Because, you see, at the high school level this game is what the game is supposed to be about.

In the words of Sister Hazel, “it’s all about the love…”

