Gotta Love Coach K…

by dentonramsey

Gotta Love Coach K…

My name is Denton Ramsey and I am a die-hard fan of Duke hoops, Coach K and the role both have in love and life well beyond sports… Coach K, along with the prestigious Duke Basketball program, is helping to make and mold athletes into future leaders and role models with intent to live for the moments that matter most in life. As a sports writer, I have a true passion for what I do. Many times, it’s frustrating to look around and see that a majority of my co-workers do not have the same passion for their jobs. Reading Coach K books (as well as books/biographies about Mike Krzyzewski) have helped to develop me into the writer I am today. For most of my life, my dad was my role model. And, as is life, my dad let me (as well as my family) down when he left my mom for another woman. Beyond my mom, Coach K is my role model. Not only do I eat, sleep and breathe Duke hoops, but I have a true passion, love and understanding for what Coach K is doing beyond his job as a college coach. During one of the Duke games this past season, which aired solely on the internet, I called after the game and was able to interview Johnny Dawkins and asked him about J.J. Redick. As a die-hard Dukie, the past year has been a dream come true in finally connecting my words as a sports writer with the Duke Basketball staff and players. It\’s always been my future dream to work with Coach K and Duke Basketball, and hope that dream will one day come true. Just wanted to give Mike Krzyzewski fans some brief insight into how much Coach K has personally affected my life and how his lessons continue to push me to be the best sports writer I can possibly be. Denton Ramsey / Denton_Ramsey@hotmail.com / Alpine, Texas

Shared on May. 10, 2006 by Denton Ramsey (Alpine, Texas)

