47 years of love and counting…

by dentonramsey

47 years of love and counting…

By Denton Ramsey/Staff Writer

 

Rebecca Portillo’s daughter is giving her mother a kidney. After all, she gave her heart to her kids.

Rebecca and Lucky Portillo have been married for 47 years, and through those years, they have been through a lot: six kids-three boys and three girls-17 grandchildren and one great-grandchild.

“I’ve been with my wife for 47 years, and I told her I will be with her for another 47 years or until we pass,” Lucky said. “I will do anything for her.”

That kind of love is tough to find in the present day and age.

And it’s that kind of love that has one of Rebecca’s daughters, Lisa, lending a helping hand back to the person who shaped her into who she is today-by giving her mom a kidney.

“It feels great to be able to do something like this for my mom,” Lisa said. “My biggest role model in my life is my mom and she’s done a lot for us. And now this is just payback.”

The operation will take place on Aug. 11 in El Paso, and the Portillo family feels very blessed to be able to move forward with the kidney transplant.

“We’ve been really blessed and we are ready to get this done,” Lisa said. “There are people that have been on dialysis for years, and we feel truly blessed to have this operation take place so soon.”

Rebecca echoed her daughter’s thoughts and had a tough time explaining how much this love from her daughter truly means.

“For my daughter to be able to do something like this for me is incredible,” Rebecca said. “It’s hard to put in words, but it feels great. It just feels great.”

Growing up in the Portillo family meant lots of family time and camping trips-memories that stick with Lisa to this day.

“A favorite childhood memory would have to be all the times we went camping,” Lisa said. “We did a lot of camping and spending quality time with mom and dad. Family life growing up was just awesome. We had a good mom and a good dad.”

For Rebecca, family life was a little more hectic as she strove to raise six kids.

“Family life growing up was okay,” Rebecca said with a smile and a laugh. “It was nice and busy. But my kids are the highlight of my life. They are just great-all of them. And just like any mother, I feel I have great kids.”

Lisa now lives in Iraan and works at the school. She likes her line of work. “It’s a job,” she said.

The Portillo family first found out about Rebecca’s need for a kidney transplant in June of 2004. Now, just one year later, the date has been set for the operation of a lifetime.

“She’s just been a good mom,” Lisa said. “She had six of us and she respected us as kids. And to this day, she still respects every one of us individually.”

Rebecca’s biggest role model in her life was her mother as well, so having her daughter do something like this for her means the world to mother Portillo.

And a mother’s advice is hard to resist.

“The best advice I ever gave my kids was to set an example and you’ll be alright,” Rebecca said.

Come Aug. 11, both Lisa and Rebecca will have their miracle moment as the transplant operation takes place in El Paso.

“I would just like to thank the community for all the outpouring of prayers and support,” Rebecca said.

Another daughter to Rebecca, Christy, echoed the response of how much her mother means to the Portillo family.

“Our mother is the backbone of this family,” Christy said. “Without her, I don’t know where we would be. She’s the one that has held us together.”

 

Comments? Email denton.ramsey@gmail.com

 

