Letter to the Editor

by dentonramsey

Letter to the Editor

Nov. 18, 1997 Actions express Christianity

I’m a so-called typical Baylor student. Or so they say. I’m a Christian, a conservative (or at least I was until my view in this letter), and yes…. a Baptist. I strongly believe in morals and values and those lessons taught by the Christian message proclaiming Jesus Christ. But, my question is this: Have we, at Baylor University, gone too far with religion? Has Baylor crossed the line?

It comes to a point where if Baylor keeps pushing religion down people’s throats, they are just going to turn and run from it. And what is it with the so-called Christians on this campus, who are suppossed to accept all people (no matter what race, sex, or religion), but yet some refuse to accept those who do not believe the same as us. And those bracelets… W.W.J.D… What would Jesus Do? What would HE do? I strongly believe Christ would not be happy with the way the majority of students here at Baylor treat others.

Sometimes I feel that Christians can become too close-minded. I am a Christian and amazingly… yes, I agree with Mr. Newton’s article about Christianity here on the Baylor campus. It’s time for Baylor to wake up!! This is a wake-up call not only to Baylor University, but also to any and all Christians on campus reading this letter. We, as Christians, need to understand the true meaning of Jesus Christ. We must learn to accept others and not criticize others for their ‘wrong doings.’

The point of my letter is simply this: I feel that we, at Baylor University, have crossed the line with religion.

Now before the hate mail begins to roll because of this letter … do me a favor. Sit down for a moment and think about your life here at Baylor. As Mr. Newton stated, we need to start focusing more on our actions than anything else. Actions say a lot, especially here at Baylor. We’re a Christian university, but ‘stuff’ still happens. There is still sex, drugs, and alcohol. And we can’t just go around shouting ‘W.W.J.D.’ or ‘If you’re not a Christian, you’re going to hell!’ Let’s quit being judgemental and start being acceptive. Let our actions speak the truth rather than our words.

Denton Ramsey / Journalism ’01

